Copyright 2017 | Downtown Special Improvement District | Bowling Green, OH
History and Architecture
Boomtown Historic District #1-11
The Boomtown Historic District is on the National Register of Historic Places with ninety-five residences. Bowling Green saw major population booms, when in 1875, it became the Wood County seat and in 1886, when oil and natural gas were discovered. There were five glass factories and wealthy persons who had the homes built, created period-specific details.
Main Street Historic District A-F
The Main Street Historic District has over 60 structures. The center is the intersection of Main and Wooster Streets. Many of the first-story storefronts have been altered, but the upper stories are generally intact. Rooflines are embellished with balustrades, tin cornices and moldings, brick corbeling, and date-name plaques. Two fires in 1887, 1888 destroyed 1/4 of the buildings. The district was rebuilt and into its current designs. The beauty of thechitecture creates a charming backdrop for local merchants and community here.
Other Historic Sites in Bowling Green, Ohio
Wood County Historical Center & Museum
The Wood County Historical Center & Museum at 13660 County Home Road is located on the grounds of the former Wood County Infirmary, built in 1868 and commonly referred to as the "Home." This unique site is one of the last county infirmaries - also called poor farms - where nearly all of the original structures still stand. The Center is dedicated to showcasing the history of the Home and of Wood County through exhibits, educational programs, special events, and research.
The Donzey House at the southwest corner of East Wooster and Crim Streets is the oldest standing building in Bowling Green. Built in 1838 of locally quarried stone, it is now covered by stucco and has been remodeled several times, including the addition of a porch and rear shed and a change in the windows. The house, also known as the Crim Place, was built by a Frenchman named Donzey.
L.C. Locke is credited with establishing the business center with one of Bowling Green's first factories, an ashery. Locke built a combined home and store on his land, and having secured an appointment as postmaster of Bowling Green, transferred the post office to his new store at 139 South Main Street. Encouraged by Locke's success, other merchants congregated nearby, making the area the business center.
Hannon's Tavern and Blacksmith Shop
John Hannon established a tavern, inn, and blacksmith shop at the southwest corner of North Main Street and Poe Road. The area became known as Hannon's Corner
This three-story brick tower was erected in the barnyard at 17103 North Dixie Highway (about one mile north of Bowling Green) to enclose a tank to store water for the farm. The structure, which cost $500, has brick walls 18 inches thick and is now used for storage.
The first cabin in Bowling Green was erected in March and April 1833 on a sand knoll on acreage claimed by Elisha Martindale, the first Bowling Green settler. The cabin still stands behind the home now located at 625 Haskins Road.
The town's first post office was located in this cabin near the northeast corner of Merry Avenue and North Main Street. This cabin still stands, now hidden by weather boards, as the one-story near portion of the Halleck house.
Contact Bowling Green Convention and Visitors Bureau for group tour information
130 South Main St. & 2151 Alumni Drive